Winners of this year’s Nigerian Pilot Newspapers/Nigerian Newsworld Magazine’s Annual Awards will be unveiled today at the Transcorp Hilton, Abuja, venue of the epoch-making occasion, under the distinguished chairmanship of former Anambra State Governor, His Excellency, Dr. Chukwuemeka Ezeife (Okwadike Igboukwu).
The event, which promises a parade of the crème de la crème of the society in the corporate world, politics and the royalty, will be graced by President Muhammadu Buhari and Liberian President, Mrs. Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, as special guests of honour, with the Chairman/Publisher of the newspaper and magazine titles, Prince Dennis Sami, as Host.
The ceremony is the fifth in the series of the annual event and will as usual be marked in pomp and pageantry, featuring a lecture and gala night as part of the highlights of the get together.
The nominees were selected by a panel after a painstaking process that produced ex-President Goodluck Jonathan, Liberian President, Mrs. Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, former Vice President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, Nasarawa State Governor, Alhaji Tanko Al-Makura, Ondo State Governor, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, Gombe State Governor, Dr. Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo, legal luminary and proprietor of Afe Babalola University, Aare Afe Babalola, SAN, Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service, Babatunde Fowler, Federal Mortgage Bank ( Corporate Award) and a posthumous award to late Ebola heroine, Dr. Mrs. Ameyo Adadevoh.
For this year’s public lecture, nationalist, civil/human rights crusader, and eminent lawyer, Chief Mike Ozekhome, SAN, will deliver a paper on the topic ‘‘Democracy in Africa and Emerging Security Threats: Issues and Challenges.’’
Other invitees for the event include: top government functionaries, members of the national and state assemblies, politicians, captains of industries, members of the diplomatic corps, civil society organisations and other distinguished personalities from other walks of life.
Nigerian Newsword Magazine was established 15 years ago while its sister publication, Nigerian Pilot Newspapers is 5 years old, printed daily simultaneous and circulated nationwide from three locations- Abuja, Port Harcourt and Lagos. The two brands are among the top 5 media brands in Nigeria with strong online presence as the websites: www.nigerian and each receiving over 250,000 visitors daily.
This year’s awards are in various categories. Man Of The Year, Person Of The Year, Governor Of The Year, International Peace Maker Of The Year, Corporate Governance Excellence Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and Posthumous Award to be bestowed on deserving Nigerians and those from other African nations.
In selecting recipients for this year’s award, the Board of Editors carried out a painstaking and rigorous scrutiny and assessment of over 100 nominees. This was done in consultation with editorial advisers and other stakeholders in the media industry.
The initial poll had over 50 thousand readers voting on-line through dedicated telephone lines and website, following which 20 persons with highest scores were shortlisted and later reduced to the 10 finalists.
We are therefore proud to say that these men and women deserve to be honoured. All of them are great achievers.

READ ALSO  Edo pensioners protest N147.7bn W/Bank loan for Oshiomhole