Nigerian Meteorological Agency, NiMet and Akwa Ibom State government has selected 15 coastal local government areas, LGAs, for sensitisation on risk-reduction measures during flooding.
The 15 LGAs selected out of the 31 in the state were contained in a statement issued in Uyo yesterday by the Permanent Secretary, Deputy Governor’s Office, Mr. Nkopuruk Ekaiko.
The statement disclosed that the sensitisation campaign would commence on Aug. 18 in four centres of Oron, Ibeno, Ikot Abasi and Itu.
The Oron centre would comprise Oron, Udung Uko, Mbo, Urue Offong/Oruko and Okobo LGAs while Ibeno centre would make up of Eket, Esit Eket, Onna and Ibeno LGAs.
The LGAs in IkotAbasi centre are Mkpat Enin, Eastern Obolo, IkotAbasi while Itu centre comprises Uruan, Ibiono Ibom and Itu.
The statement added that the state government had already flagged off media campaign against harmful environmental practices like dumping of refuse in the drainage system.
“The campaign also warns against blocking of drainage such as erection of structures on water channels against government approved plan,“ Ekaiko said.
Ekaiko said that other measures taken by the state government to mitigate impact of flooding included design and construction of Dominic Utuk’s main erosion control canal in Uyo, the state capital.
“It is worthy of note that Akwa Ibom Government had envisaged this situation prior to the ultimate highlight by NiMet, hence the timely engineering design and award of contract.” Ekaiko said.
He said that other flood control projects included the Itam pipe-jacking erosion control channel and the underground drainage system along UdoUdoma, Nsikak Eduok and Oron road in Uyo.
Ekaiko said that the state government had also embarked on aggressive clearing and de-silting of existing drainages and creating of isolated catch pits for collection of water during flooding.
It would be recalled that early this August, NiMet warned of impending flooding this year in 11 states of Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Kaduna, Kwara, Nasarawa, Yobe and Zamfara.

READ ALSO  Ondo Gov. poll: Tinubu committed no offence for meddling in APC affairs – Obe