TENURE policy as had been the existing in the Federal Civil Service has been suspended by the federal government with immediate effect. This took effect through a directive contained in a circular signed by director of Communications in the office of the HoS, Haruna R. Imrana, to all Ministries, Departments and Agencies yesterday, and which conveyed the president’s directive on the suspension. The circular said the suspension wass with immediate effect and all concerned were to comply accordingly. The suspended tenure policy in the Federal Civil Service may not affect political office holders as was gathered. However, a top director in the Federal Civil Service clarified that only mainstream officers in the service were to be affected with the new development.
Meanwhile, it was learnt that the suspended policy which was introduced by late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua in 2009 had set a four-year tenure renewable only once for permanent secretaries in the Federal Civil Service in line with the 1999 Constitution. The eight-year tenure ceiling also affected federal directors without prejudice to the extant circular, which prescribes 60 years of age and 35 years of service for mandatory retirement. The then government took the action following a representation by the chairman of the Federal Civil Service Commission, FCSC, and the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, HCSF. The then chairman of FCSC and Head of Service had disclosed there was inability of the then Federal Civil Service to renew itself as a result of chronic lack of vacancies, particularly at the top directorate level.

READ ALSO  Lalong promises more dividends of democracy to his people