The governor-elect for Delta State, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa has inaugurated three committees comprising 98 members for a smooth transition process.
Speaking at the inauguration committee at Government House, Asaba, Senator Okowa informed Deltans that he would ensure equity and fairness in running the affairs of the state and informed the people that membership of the committee was not an automatic ticket to be members of the state executive council.
According to him, the committees which include Technical Committee on Programme Development/Governance, Committee on Hand Over and the Committee of Night of Praise would ensure the seamless transition in the state.
“The transition from one administration to another is often a defining moment in any democracy, the work can sometimes be burdensome but not overwhelming. It can be challenging but gratifying when it results in a seamless transition and the development of a blueprint that ensures the incoming government starts on a sure and strong footing,” Senator Okowa stated.
Continuing he said, “the success or otherwise of any transition process is measured by how quickly an incoming administration is able to get to grips with the work at hands and begins to effectively implement its plans, policies and programmes.
“The members of these committees have been selected based on certain criteria, it does not mean they work harder than others, membership of the committees does not translate to appointment into the state executive council, appointment will not be based on the work of the committee or on the recommendation of members of the committees.”
The governor-elect said that the terms of reference for the Committee on Programmes Development/Governance include making preparation for the smooth take-off and implementation of the policies, and programmes of the incoming administration after inauguration; advise on governance structure, size, relationship and best practices that will enable greater efficiency and outcome; examine the 2015 budget and advise in line with work plan, adding that those of the Handover Committee included provision of standard template and guidance for the preparation of handover documents by every ministry; review and give situation reports as regards projects, programmes and activities of the ministry; ensuring adequate documentation of the assets and liabilities of the ministry/agency; taking stock of the resources and staffing of the ministry and relating and coordinating with officials of the state government ministries, departments and agencies, our party and other stakeholders in the state.
Senator Okowa enjoined members of the committees to work diligently and cooperate with one another and other members of the party for the successful transition of the incoming government, stressing that “I am asking you to play your part in our quest to build the Delta of our dreams, if you do, then a new and better day of prosperity for all Deltans is within our reach”.
The Committee on Programmes Development/Governance has Professor Sam Oyovbaire as Chairman, Handover has Chief Clement Ofuani as Chairman while that of Night of Praise has Barr. Richard Damijo as Chairman.