The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), University of Ibadan branch, has elected Dr Ayodeji Omole as its new Chairman. Omole, who was the Secretary in the immediate past executive, polled a total of 485 votes to defeat his opponent, Dr Steven Oluwole. Oluwole, a former President of the Medical and Dental Consultants Association of Nigeria (MDCAN), polled 288 votes. The Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Prof.‎ Afeez Oladosu, said on Saturday night that Dr Peter Olapegba of the Department of Psychology polled 519 votes to emerge Secretary. He said Oladosu defeated Dr Olisa Muojama ‎of the Department of History who scored 235 votes. According to the chairman, Dr Adedapo Adewole, the new Vice-chairperson, scored 469 votes to defeat Dr Adenike Ogunshe, ‎ who scored 293 votes. Other elected members were Dr Monika Odinko, Welfare‎ Secretary, Dr Olusola Olawoye, Financial Secretary, and Dr Isaac Olufemi, Investment Secretary. Also elected were Dr Olufemi Ayoola, Treasurer; Dr Frederick Oshiname, Internal Auditor; Dr Akewula Adams Assistant Secretary; while Dr Adebayo Komolafe emerged the spokesman of the union. In his acceptance speech, Omole promised to further ensure that the welfare of academic staff was paramount in the programmes of the executive.. Omole also said that ‎he would ensure that no upright lecturer was victimised. He urged all those who ‎lost in the election to work with the new executive to reposition the university into an enviable brand for all Africans. (NAN)