Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has upheld the verdict of the returning offices for the April 11, 2015, Ondo State House of Assembly election for Ilaje I and II constituencies in which candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, were declared winners.
A statement signed by the Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC, of INEC in Ondo State, Mr. Segun Agbaje, said the decision superseded the earlier information that elections in those areas were inconclusive.
According to the REC, elections in those areas were initially declared inconclusive based on report from the returning officer that he was forced to declare the result under threat, following some irregularities during the poll.
The statement read that the commission would now allow the declaration that the PDP candidates, Abayomi Akinruntan for Ilaje constituency I and Coker Malachi for constituency II won the elections in line with the 2010 Electoral Act (as amended) and the approved guidelines for the 2015 general elections.
The statement read: “Recall that the Resident Electoral Commissioner during the press briefing on the outcome of the state House of Assembly Election on 12th April, 2015, informed the general public through the media that the national headquarters of the commission would consider the issue surrounding the state House of Assembly election held on 11th April, 2015, in Ilaje I constituency and Ilaje II constituency of the state and take decision.”
He advised those not satisfied with the outcome of the elections to seek redress at the appropriate quarters.
With this declaration, the PDP now has 21 seats in the House of Assembly while the All Progressives Congress, APC, has five.

READ ALSO  Council boss urges Sango-Ota residents to pay tax regularly