National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yusuf Lasun and prominent leaders of the ruling party met behind closed- doors with the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, at the State House yesterday.
The meeting attended by the party national leaders including the former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, and the National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, lasted about four hous.
None of those participated at the meeting agreed to speak to State House Correspondents who besieged them for interviews.
The Senate President and Atiku were both wearing stern looks just as the Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume and Tinubu merely said that they were in the Villa for consultations.
But, the Senior Special Assistant to the Vice President on media and publicity, Laolu Akande, in a terse statement made available to newsmen wrote “Select leaders of the All Progressives Congress, APC, drawn from the party’s National Headquarters, the legislative and executive arms of government had a consultative meeting on issues affecting the party and the nation.
The meeting, which held at the Vice President’s conference room, was very useful and resourceful towards achieving the goals of the party and the government.”
However, a source close to the meeting disclosed that the APC leaders discussed issues relating to the state of the nation and the need for the presidency to fast track its economic policies in order to bring succor to Nigerians.
It was also gathered that the crisis rocking the Senate over the latest clamour for Saraki to resign his position following the judgment of the Supreme Court ordering him to face his trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT) was discussed.
The Senate President has been facing trial at the CCT over alleged false declaration of assets and has employed every legal means to quash the charges.
There are also indications that the meeting may have discussed the modalities for nominations into vacuum created by the sack of some chief executives of government departments and parastatals.
Others at the meeting included the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, David Lawal Babachir; APC Deputy National Chairman North, Lawan Shuaibu; APC former Interim National Chairman, Chief Bisi Akande, APC Deputy Chairman, South West, Chief Segun Oni; Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Ogbonaiya Onu; former Information Minister, Prince Tony Momoh and Deputy Governor of Imo State, Prince Eze Madumere.

AdAre you a One Minute Man? This Nafdac Approved Solution Would Help you Last 30mins+ with no side effects