Composition of a seven man ad-hoc committee yesterday to look into the petition written by a judge in the state, Justice Folahanmi Oloyede, calling for the impeachment of the state Governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola over mis-appropriation of the state funds is causing ripples in the Assembly.
It would be recalled that the petition was written over two months ago which had generated much controversy as some lauded the bravery of the judge in speaking her mind, while some condemned her for breaching her oath of office.
Speaker, Hon. Najeem Salaam, while constituting the committee headed by Hon. Akintunde Akingboye, the Deputy Speaker in Osogbo urged them to look critically at all the issues raised in the petition, while the response of the governor should be assessed.
Minority Leader of the Assembly, Hon. Makinde Oladejo, while speaking to journalists shortly after the inauguration, decried the composition of the committee, expressing that All Progressives Party, APC, was planning to subvert and manipulate the outcome of the committee.
His words: “We in the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP as members of the party and this hallowed chamber frown at the composition of the ad-hoc committee set up to look at the petition against Governor Aregbesola over misappropriating of the finance of the state.
“How could the seven members of the committee be from APC? Are they saying that the two of us from PDP are not competent? Something is fishy in the composition. The Speaker said that we have not been indoctrinated properly with the Assembly rules, what of a new member from the APC in the committee? I as a member of the Assembly has Master in Law, are those in the committee better than I do?
“We in the PDP totally reject the composition of the ad-committee set up by the Osun Assembly to look into the allegations against the governor of the state. Excluding PDP members of the Assembly is to cover up the governor.”
Meanwhile, the Speaker, Najeem Salaam in his speech at the occasion assured the people of Osun State that the petition will be treated with all commitment and would be timely in submission.
According to him, both the petitioner and the governor’s responses would be investigated properly by the committee, and if need be, he will be called upon to defend himself further on the issue.
The committee has two weeks to submit its findings to the Assembly for further consideration.
Other members of the committee are; Timothy Owoeye, Oladoyin Folorunsho Olayinka, Afolabi Olalekan, Ogunsola Oyeleke Adeleke, Adebayo Wasiu and Akinola Adufe. They are all APC members.

READ ALSO  Court remands mother of five in prison for allegedly beating her husband