Chairman, Oyo State National and State Houses of Assembly Election Tribunal, Justice J.G Abunsaga yesterday said that the tribunal had received 36 petitions in respect of results of elections into the national state houses of assembly in the state.
The breakdown of the petitions showed that two are on senatorial elections while 10 are on the House of Representatives. The remaining 24 are for the state House of Assembly.
Justice Abusanga, who made the declaration in Ibadan at the inaugural sitting of the three-member tribunal, also promised to dispense with all the cases within 180 days stipulated by Nigeria’s constitution.
Other members of the tribunal are Justices G.C Nnamani and A.N Suleiman.
Justice Abundaga, however, sought the support of counsels handling petitions, insisting that their cooperation would determine the success of the tribunal.
He equally cautioned that the tribunal would not tolerate playing to the gallery by counsels, stressing that the tribunal would not tolerate any unnecessary adjournment.
According to him, “We shall be firm on all issues. Election petition tribunal is time-bound. Every petition filed must be heard and dispensed with within the 180 days stipulated by the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended.”
Chief Richard Ogunwole, SAN, who spoke on behalf of other counsels at the tribunal, assured of their cooperation, declaring that the counsels equally attach importance to the need to work within stipulated period.
He sought the assistance of the tribunal to impress it on the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, and the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC, on the need for the release of documents required by counsels to argue or defend their petitions.