• As INEC declares APC’s Obaseki winner

Even before the final announcement of the outcome of Wednesday’s governorship election yesterday, candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Pastor OsagieIze-Iyamu rejected it naming gross electoral malpractices by agents of the All Progressives Congress, APC as responsible..
Addressing reporters at his Benin residence, Ize-Iyamu described the results being announced by INEC as a “rape of democracy” adding that his party monitored the election through its agents across the state.
“Contrary to claim that PDP brought in 8,000 militants, the election showed that PDP is law-abiding and did not involve in illegality. The delays in announcing official result by INEC was in order to announce predetermined fabricated results,” he said.
“The figures being announced by INEC do not represent the massive turnout. We have told our agents to bring all the results issued at the polling units. We do not want to rely on the messages they sent.
“In the next three or four days, will have complete record. From findings, it is clear a lot of manipulation has taken place.”
Chairman of PDP in the state, Dan Orbih alleged that INEC conspired with the APC government to truncate the wish of the people.
Orbih said the results announced were at a complete variance with what the party got from it agents and independent observers.
He alleged that the two-week extension of the poll by the electoral body was to allow for more time to perfect the manipulation of the process.
“You will recall that our state publicity secretary had briefed the press less than 48 hours to the elections on what is playing out now,” he said.
“If you go by the results that were announced at the polling units and wards across the state, it shows that PDP would have won by over 30,000 votes.
“What INEC is announcing is clearly different from what we got from our agents and independent observers in the 192 wards and over 2,000 units across the state.
“We are rejecting these results as they were being announced by INEC and we are coming out early enough to make this known.”
He said the cancellation of some results on the basis of failed card reader was part of a deliberate plan to also manipulate the poll.
Orbih alleged that the areas were results were cancelled were the stronghold of the PDP.
“I wonder what the Incident Form is for. Voters should not be made to suffer unduly for the inefficiency of card readers,” he said.
meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Godwin Obaseki, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as winner of the 2016 Edo governorship election.
According to Kayode Soremekun, a professor and vice chancellor of the Federal University and , Oye-Ekiti and INEC chief returning officer in the state,, Obasaki polled 319,483 votes to beat his closest challenger, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 253,173.
ACCORDING TO INEC, Obaseki also won majority votes in 13 of the 18 local governments in the state, losing the remaining five to the PDP candidate.
However, the PDP in the state has rejected the results describing it as adulterated.
“If you go by the results that were announced at the polling units and wards across the state, it shows the PDP would have won by over 30,000 votes,” said Dan Orbih, the party’s state chairman in a press conference.
“What INEC is announcing is clearly different from what we got from our agents and independent observers in the 192 wards and over 2,000 units across the state.”
The PDP agent at the collation centre also refused to sign the final result sheet.
“I cannot endorse it,” he told the INEC officials present. “You said I should get ready for court instead of looking at it here and now. I cannot be a party to that,” he said.
The agent of the Young Democratic Party also refused to sign the final result sheet.
“I have the mandate of the Young Democratic Party not to append my signature on this result sheet,” he said.


Buhari wants Senate to confirm INEC, NPC commissioners
In a different but related development, ahead of the conduct of the remaining governorship and 2019 general elections, President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday forwarded the list of six Commissioners of Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to the Senate for confirmation.
The list of the prospective commissioners are:Prof. Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu( Anambra/South-East), May I. Agbamuche-Mbu,( Delta-South-South), AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’Azu(rtd)( Gombe/ North-East) and Mohammed Kudu Haruna( Niger/North-Central)
Others include: Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (Oyo/ South-West) and Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche(Zamfara/North-West)
In a letter addressed to the President of the Senate, Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki and dated September 27,2016, Buhari requested the upper chamber to screen and confirm the six nominees for the position of INEC National Commissioners in accordance with section 154(1) of the 1999 constitution( as amended).
The letter reads in part: “I write to forward herewith the names of six National Commissioners appointed for the Independent National Electoral Commission( INEC) from the six geopolitical zones for the of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”
Similarly the President also requested the Senate to consider and confirm the list of five nominees for the position of National Commissioners for National Population Commission, NPC
The names of the nominees are: Engr.Benedict Ukpong- Member ( Akwa Ibom), Gloria Fateya Izonfuo-member ( Bayelsa), Barr.Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyana- member( Benue).
Others include Dr Haliru Bala-Member ( Kebbi) and Dr Eyitayo O. Oyetunji-Member (Oyo).

READ ALSO  Teacher jailed for caning pupil