NSK Farms has organised a novelty match to celebrate Democracy Day at the club’s ranch in Keffi, Nasarawa State.
The four-team event was in honour of President Muhammadu Buhari and Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, the newly-elected President of Nigeria and Governor of Sokoto State, respectively.
The tournament featured some of the best polo players in Nigeria including the Vice President of the IGP strikers Polo team, Haruna Shagari and the tallest polo player in Nigeria, Nura Kangiwa.
Others were the long-hitting Lado Aliyu, Mustapha Junaid, the captain of the Abuja Guards Polo Club and Isa Dogonyaro, the fearless warrior and owner of Dogonyaro Farms to mention a few.
The PMB Cup, which was the highlight of the event saw Team A led by Alhaji Nasiru Kangiwa, the proprietor of NSK Farms narrowly lose to Team B led by Mustapha Juniad, the Captain of the Abuja Guards Polo Club.
The high goal game was indeed tensed as both teams went neck-to-neck at the end of a pulsating encounter.
The match was tied at the end of the fourth and last chukka and had to be decided through a coin toss which Junaidu’s team B won to emerge winners of the PMB Cup, the event’s most coveted trophy. While, the quartet of Kangiwa, Aliyu, Suleiman and Umaru Yusuf had to settle for the runners up prize.
Kangiwa told newsmen that the match was highly competitive and interesting as it kept the spectators at the edge of their seats.
“We thank God for an injury-free tournament as everyone mounted and dismounted safely,” he said.
He also used the opportunity to congratulate President Buhari and Tambuwal, adding that the purpose of the event was to celebrate their victories as well as some of his other friends in the country.
The other match played earlier in the day saw the proprietor of Dogonyaro Farms, Isa Dogonyaro-led Team A battle Mohammed Bunza-led Team B for the AWT Cup.
The Dogonyaro-led team which comprised of the formidable quartet of Idi Palermo, Kabiru Bage and Yusuf Bello defeated Bunza’s team B, 6 – 3 to lift the AWT trophy. While, the quartet of Bunza, Mohammed Banka, Salisu Dagazal and Nasiru Dangaladima had to settle for the runners up prize.
Dogonyaro in his post-match comment admitted that the game was tough, adding however that his team had to dig deep from its wealth of experience to win the game.
The MVP award went to Junaid, while the best played pony award went to Camaro, owned by Yusuf Bello.
Among dignitaries at the event were Mai Nasara Maisauri, the District Head of Mai Sauri, Mrs. Hadiza Sani-Kangiwa, Executive Secretary, National Commission for Refugees, Migrants, and Internally Displaced Persons (NCFRMI), Mr Bangoura Morlaye (Guinea), ECOWAS Commissioner for Energy and Mines as well as other diplomats and captains of industries.

READ ALSO  Education remains surest way to eradicate poverty, others – Gov Ortom