Reps give new state constituencies to Benue — Nigerian Pilot News
Connect with us


Reps give new state constituencies to Benue



Again Reps summon Buhari *Decry state of insecurity in the country

House of Representatives yesterday added new constituencies to Benue State following a request by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.
The two additional constituencies were carved out from the existing Guma State Constituency. They are Guma and Agasha State Constituencies.
With the addition, Benue now has a minimum of 30 state constituencies from the initial 29.
Guma comprises of Mbabai 03: Mbadwem 04: Mbawa 05: Mbayer/Yandev 06: Nyiev 07 and Uvir 10.
Agasha State Constituency has: Abisni 01, Kaambe 02, Nzorov 08 and Saghev 09 wards.
Approving the resolution in a motion titled “the Need for the National Assembly to Approve the Proposal by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to create Two State Constituencies from Guma State Constituency of Benue State’’, the House said it approved a receipt of proposal from the Independent National Electoral Commission on April 18 requesting the National Assembly to approve the establishment of two state constituencies for Guma State Constituency of Benue which it considered and passed the resolution.
The lawmakers noted that it also made the approval sequel to a Supreme Court judgement in the case of INEC V Guma Local Government Council in suit no (SC/195/2016) where the apex court ordered the electoral commission to create additional Agasha State Constituency from Guma.
According to them, INEC took the necessary steps by immediately engaging stakeholders and undertaking boundary and map delineation of the affected areas before approaching the House of Representatives for final approval.
However, leading debate on the request, the Chairman, House Committee on Rules and Business, Edward Pwajok argued that beyond the Supreme Court judgement which compelled INEC to seek parliament’s approval, it is incumbent on the electoral commission in line with Section 114 of the 1999 Constitution which provides that “the Independent Electoral Commission shall review the division of every state into constituencies at intervals of not less than ten years and may alter such constituencies in accordance with the provisions of this section to such extent as it may consider desirable in the light of the review.”

130 total views, 130 views today

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Most Read