Rerun: PDP wins more seats in Nasarawa Assembly — Nigerian Pilot News
Connect with us


Rerun: PDP wins more seats in Nasarawa Assembly



Osun guber: Why we rejected inclusion of Justice Oyewole as member of Election Appeal Panel - PDP

PEOPLES Democratic Party, PDP, in Nasarawa state has won two more seats in the re-run election conducted during the weekend by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in constituencies where the election had been declared inconclusive.

The re-run election was held in the affected constituencies of Obi ll, Panda/Gitata, Keffi East and Nasarawa-Eggon.

INEC returning officer for Obi ll, declared candidate of the PDP, Hon. Lula Zhekaba as winner having defeated his closest rival, Hon. David Ayele of the APC.

Also, the PDP candidate for Panda/Gitata constituency, David Maiyaki was declared winner of the re-run election by the INEC Returning Officer, Professor Dauda Ena.

According to him, David Maiyaki of PDP polled 16, 361 votes to defeat Hashimu Gurku of APC who got 10, 622 votes.

Similarly for Nasarawa-Eggon East constituency, the INEC Returning Officer, Dr. Adofu Illemona, declared Muluku Aga of All Progressives Congress, APC, as winner of the election, saying that the APC candidate polled 11, 960 to defeat his closest rival, Kasimu Bakyono of All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, who got 9, 867 votes.

In the same vein, the re-run election for Keffi East constituency saw the emergence of the Social Democratic Party’s candidate as winner.

With this development, the PDP has seven seats in the 24-member Assembly with Zenith Labour Party and SDP having one each while the ruling APC is maintaining its majority status with 15 members.

Nigerian Pilot reports that the rerun followed the inclusive elections in view of the cancellation of results of some units in the affected constituencies during the March 9 elections.

1,809 total views, 10 views today

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Most Read