Seriake Dickson
Seriake Dickson

Governor Henry Seriake Dickson has charged a nine-member judicial commission of inquiry to spare no resources in unearthing the alleged bloated government payroll with a view to bringing the culprits to book.
The governor also challenged them to thoroughly investigate other falsified accounts in the state and ensure that government revenue is adequately accounted for, noting that he adopted the measure to sanitise the civil service and entrench corporate governance in the state.
The commission, which has 60 days to conclude its assignment, is also to extend its investigation into payroll fraud to the eight local government councils of the state
While inaugurating the commission, he gave an eight-point term of reference to its members and charged them to investigate the circumstances surrounding the state’s payroll of public servants from 2003 till date.
He described the task before the commission as important and sensitive to the survival of the Bayelsa State, and mandated its members to also uncover the person or persons, cartel or gang involved in the suspected fraudulent distortion of the payroll and nominal roll of public servants from 2003 till date.
He also called on the commission to make any recommendation as it may deem fit to strengthen government accounting and payroll procedures for the future, adding that such measures have become imperative to block leakages of government funds in view of the prevailing economic challenges.
The commission is expected, among other things, to “reveal the identities of the perpetrators of the suspected fraudulent falsification of salaries in ministries, departments and agencies of government as well as determine, where possible, the exact amount of government money that may have been lost through the criminal activity.”
Also, the commission has the responsibility to uncover the method employed by the suspected perpetrators in depriving government of large sums of money as well as recommend measures to recover such stolen funds.
Justice Doris Adokeme is the chairperson of the commission while Mr. Victor Slaboh is secretary.
Other members are Chief Amos Poubenafa; Mr. Olodiama Jebba representing the Ministry of Justice and Mr. Anthony Ikhobo representing the state treasury.
Raymond Angaye, representing the Office of the Head of Service, Mr Kehinde Akingbade; Miss Erebi Bibobra and Assistant Commissioner of Police, Assayomo Tuesday, are also members of the commission.
Already, workers under the aegis of Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, and Trade Union Congress of Nigeria, TUC, have expressed satisfaction with the governor’s decision, saying apart from bringing sanity into the system and block all leakages of fraud, it would save the state from impoverishment by crooks.

READ ALSO  NTDC Ag DG sets up committee to explore UN Tourism Intervention Funds