Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the Senate president, Dr. Bukola Saraki will tomorrow unveil the list of chairpersons and vice chairpersons of the special and standing committees of the upper legislative chamber.
A competent source in the Senate disclosed yesterday that every arrangement had been concluded by the Senate president to announce the committees on the floor of the red chamber.
Going by the amended Senate’s standing rule, there is provision for 57 standing committees out of which three have already been constituted, which are Rules and Business chaired by Senator Babajide Omoworare (APC Osun East), Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions under the chairmanship of Senator Sam Anyanwu (PDP Imo East) and Public Accounts headed by Senator Andy Uba (PDP Anambra South).
But feelers from the Senate leadership indicate that not less than nine additional committees may be added when eventually announced tomorrow to make the total number of standing committees 65.
Already last minutes intense lobby by senators across party divides are ongoing as regards who becomes chairman of what committee and how many of such committees will eventually be headed either by APC or PDP senators in view of what happened in the House of Representatives where the ratio of its 97 standing committees is 48 to 46 among the APC and PDP senators, aside one each given to APGA and SDP.
However, a source from the APC camp in the Senate said unlike the headships of 96 committees unveiled last week by the speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara that is presently generating controversy among the lawmakers, the Senate committees is expected to go along with the numerical strength of every political party.
Presently, there are 59 senators elected on the platform of the APC and 49 for the PDP.

READ ALSO  World's highest bridge opens in China