• As Buhari drops Ibeto
  • Amaechi, Shittu know fate today


After two days of screening of 18 out of 36 ministerial nominees forwarded to it in two different batches by President Muhammadu Buhari, the senate yesterday confirmed their nominations as Hon Ministers of Government of the Federation of Nigeria.
Leading the pack of the screened 18 ministerial nominees, now Ministers- Designate, were former governors of Lagos State, Babatunde Raji Fashola, Anambra State,Chris Nigige, Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi, and Abia State (but representing Ebonyi), Chief Ogbonaya Onu.
Others are, Chief Audu Ogbeh (Benue), Udoma Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom), Dr Osagie Ehanire (Edo), Lt- Gen Abdulrahman Dambazzau (Kano), Hajia Amina Ibrahim Mohammed (Gombe), Engineer Sulaiman Adamu (Jigawa), and Ibrahim Usman Jibrin (Nasarawa).
Also confirmed as Ministers- Designate, are the Group Managing Director of the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, Dr Ibe Kachikwu (Delta), Abubakar Malami (Zamfara), Senator Aisha Jummai Alhassan (Taraba), Kemi Adeosun (Ogun), Barrister Solomon Dalong (Plateau), Senator Hadi Sirika (Katsina) and Alhaji Lai Mohammed ( Kwara), whose confirmation stirred slight controversy with overwhelming shout of nay by PDP senators against his confirmation.
The Senate President, Bukola Saraki had before the screening of 8 out of 10 of the nominees slated for that purpose yesterday announced the withdrawal of Ahmed Musa Ibeto, a nominee from Niger state from the list by President Muhammadu Buhari.
Ibeto’s withdrawal from the list by the President would however not create vacuum for Niger state as the President in his last list of 16 nominees, included Abubakar Bawa Bwari from the state to replace Ibeto.
While screening of the nominee from Oyo state, Barrister Adebayo Shittu, was stood down yesterday by the senate for lack of time, that of the former governor of Rivers State , Rotimi Amaechi , was due to the failure of Senate Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petition to present report of its findings on petitions written against him.
Chairman of the Committee, Sam Anyanwu (PDP Imo East), had on Tuesday when asked to present the report by the Senate President, promised to do so yesterday morning, which he however postponed to today when asked again yesterday morning.
Anyanwu, at the two instances, explained to the Senate President that all members of the committee would have to meet for ratification of the report before submitting it to the senate.
It was gathered yesterday evening by a member of the 13- man committee that quorum was not formed at the meeting he called for that purpose, making the possibility of presenting the report today to pave way for Amaechi’s screening doubtful.

READ ALSO  How Oronsaye stole N314.6m - EFCC