As the scheming for the leadership of the National Assembly thickens, a northern students group, Amalgamated Northern Nigerian Students Forum, ANNSF, has advised the All Progressives Congress, APC, leadership to zone the Senate presidency to the North-East zone.
The students’ forum gave the advice through its president, Comrade Yahaya Ayuba, in a press conference in Kaduna yesterday.
He said that North-East should be favoured ahead of the North-Central which had held the Senate presidency for about eight years of the 16 years of the present democratic rule, with the current Senate president, Senator David Mark who hails from the north central, maintaining that zoning the plum job to the region now would make it look like a hereditary position for the region.
Comrade Ayuba argued that the North-East had been marginalised for too long and also neglected in their troubles these past years, and that it is only natural for the sake of justice to zone the position to the region.
Ayuba further stated that as students and youths who actively participated in the process that brought in the in-coming government, they would not stand and watch while undeserved persons who do not match the credibility of the president-elect, Muhammadu Buhari, to clinch the senate presidency of Nigeria.
He added that Gen Buhari had consistently maintained his detest to working with people with questionable character who had been indicted by anti-graft agencies in the country.
In this regard, the group, which has representatives from all the 19 northern states, endorsed Senator Ahmed Lawal from Yobe State for the Senate presidency based on what they described as his clean records and sound moral standing with his track records of quality leadership, which it said he had displayed in his previous stewardship in the National Assembly.
Ayuba further revealed that Senator Lawal was elected in 1999 as member of the House of Representatives and after eight years in the lower chamber, he was elected as senator for Yobe East senatorial district in 2007.