The Senate on Thursday screened former Rivers governor Rotimi Amaechi and four other ministerial nominees for confirmation as ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The nominees are: Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa), Cladius Daramola (Ondo), Baba Mustapha (Borno) and Ocholi James (Kogi).

However, one of the nominees, Mr Adewole Folorunsho (Oyo), who was listed on the Senate Order Paper, was not screened and no explanation was given by the President of the Senate.

READ ALSO  UCL play-off: Man Utd faces Club Brugge

During the screening, the nominees spoke of the need for diversification of the economy, speedy trial of inmates, employment opportunities and quality education.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that 18 nominees out of the 36 sent by President Muhammadu Buhari had so far been confirmed.

READ ALSO  Lagos court slams N200, 000 bail on man for dangerous driving

Seven nominees have been screened and awaiting confirmation while 11 nominees are yet to be screened or confirmed.

NAN also reports that four Bills scaled first reading at Thursday’s plenary.

READ ALSO  EFCC arrest PDP's Olisa Metuh

They are: National Security Tax Fund Bill 2015 and Federal Capital Territory Act (Amendment) Bill 2015.

Others are Nigerian Postal Service Act 2004(Repeal and Re-enactment) Bill 2015 and Deep Offshore and Inland Basin production sharing contracts Act 2004(Amendment) Bill.

The Senate thereafter adjourned till Tuesday, Oct. 27.

Ad:See How you can turn $500 into $10,000 Click HERE For Details.