Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, David Babachir Lawal yesterday stunned members of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs when he declared that the list of 47 career ambassadorial nominees forwarded by President Muhammadu Buhari for confirmation by the Upper House, remained unchangeable.
Lawal made the submission while appearing before the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs over alleged lopsidedness in the list excluding nominees from Ondo, Bayelsa, Ebonyi and Plateau States.
The SGF, who appeared before the committee chaired by Senator Monsurat Sunmonu (APC Oyo Central) alongside the Foreign Affairs Minister, Ambassador Geoffrey Onyeama, however, assured that the omitted states would be covered when the list of non career ambassadorial nominees is out.
The SGF said the nominees, nominated under the prerogative of the President, do not need to cut across the 36 states of the federation as it is, with ministerial nominees.
Specifically, Lawal, in his explanations declared that the list was based on certain criteria and not the other way round and that even at that, 32 out of the 36 states in the federation were captured, which to him, shows substantial compliance to the federal character principles.
He said part of the criteria used in the selection of the nominees apart from their respective records of service, is change compatibility value of the nominee in line with the change agenda of the present administration.
“You must understand the mindset of this government, it’s a change government. It is important that whoever is going to be on board in this government, who is going to play one role or the other must be somebody that we will like to call change compatible, he must establish his integrity, his qualification on the job and his ability to deliver on the job”, he said.
He however along with the minister assured the committee that the four states omitted in the list , would be compensated in the non career list that would soon be forwarded to the Senate by the President.
Efforts by the Committee members to grill the SGF and the minister further over the controversial list were however not allowed by the Chairman, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu (APC Oyo Central) who ordered for close door session for further deliberations.

READ ALSO  Man Utd agree £75m Lukaku fee with Everton