States legislatures across the federation yesterday elected their principal officers without any major friction. The smooth election of especially the Speakers of the Houses of Assembly paved the way for the lawmakers to work out modalities for the conduct of their plenary sessions.
At the Enugu State House of Assembly, the lawmakers elected Mr. Edward Uchenna Ubosi, the member representing Enugu East as Speaker of the 6th state assembly.
The 24-member House also elected Hon. Donatus Okechukwu Uzogbado (Oji River) as Deputy Speaker after the inauguration of the House by Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi. They were all unopposed.
In a statement after being sworn-in by Clerk of the House, Mr. Christopher Chukwurah, the new Speaker called on the members to close ranks to move the state forward.
In Borno State, the 28 lawmakers of the 8th House of Assembly picked Abdulkarim Lawan from Abadam State Constituency as Speaker and Inusa Danlami Kubo from Shani LGC State Constituency as Deputy Speaker. They were returned and retained their positions in the 7th Assembly.
Clerk of the House, Alhaji Lawan Kur Ganzabure, administered the oaths of office and allegiance on the principal officers.
In his speech, Lawan thanked the members for re-electing him as Speaker and pledged to work with them in the interest of the state.

Obasa is Lagos Speaker
After several permutations, intrigues and keen contest, Hon. Mudasiru Ajayi Obasa, was yesterday elected the Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly.
His election came after the proclamation of the Lagos State House of Assembly by Governor Akinwunmi Ambode.
Obasa hails from Agege Constituency I and was the Chairman of the House Committee on Budget and Economic Planning in the 7th Legislature.
Hon. Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni from Lagos Island Constituency 1 was elected as Deputy Speaker. Eshinlokun, a Lagos Prince, was a member of the House between 1999 and 2003.
The duo later took the oath of office in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
The 8th Assembly has 40 members with 32 from the All Progressives Congress, APC, and eight from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.
Their colleagues in the Zamfara State House of Assembly unanimously elected Sanusi Garba.
Garba who served as Speaker of the House from 2011 to 2015 represents Gusau Constituency 1.
The lawmakers also returned Alhaji Muhammed Abubakar Gummi as Deputy Speaker.
After swearing in the 24 members of the House, the Speaker commended them for the confidence they reposed in him and promised to carry them along.

Delta House elects Igbuya Speaker
The 6th Assembly of the Delta State House of Assembly has been inaugurated following a proclamation by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.
Hon. Monday Igbuya, representing Sapele Constituency was elected Speaker following the unanimous adoption of his nomination by the lawmakers.
Clerk of the House, Lyna Ocholor, read the governor’s proclamation letter at about 10:06am yesterday, after which Igbuya and other principal officers were sworn-in.
Igbuya, in his acceptance speech, said he had acquired the experience to pilot the affairs of the legislature and sought the support of the stakeholders to succeed in the task ahead.
And exactly a year after the Edo State legislature stopped holding plenary at the Assembly Complex on Ring Road, Benin City, due to internal crisis among lawmakers, politicians elected on the platforms of the All progressives Congress, APC and Peoples Democratic Party, PDP yesterday returned to the building for their inauguration by Governor Adams Oshiomhole.
The governor who formally declared the first session of the sixth State Assembly opened, through a letter communicated to the Clerk of the House, charged the members to align their efforts with that of his administration to take state to the next level.
Shortly after the inauguration, the lawmakers elected Hon. Victor Edoror, APC member from Esan Central Local Government Area as the Speaker with Mr Bright Osayande, also of the APC from Ovia North East 11 as Deputy Speaker. Hon. Folly Ogedengbe from Owan East was elected the Majority Leader.
Edoror, a former deputy speaker in the 5th Assembly emerged the Speaker through a motion moved by Hon. Folly Ogedengbe, the APC member representing Owan East Constituency and was seconded by another APC member, Mr. Henry Okuarobo from Ikpoba Okha Constituency.
He promised to work harmoniously with the executive and judiciary to deliver democratic dividends to the people of the state.

Ex-Rep emerges Kwara Assembly Speaker
Meanwhile, the immediate past Chairman of the House Committee on Judiciary in the Federal House of Representatives, Hon. Ali Ahmad, has emerged the Speaker of the Kwara State House of Assembly.
Ahmad succeeds former Speaker, Hon. Razak Atunwa, who has been elected as a member of the House of Representatives, representing Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency.
Other elected officers of the assembly are: Hon. Mathew Okedare representing Ipaye/Ejidogari/Lawa constituency of Moro local government council of the state who emerged as the deputy speaker of the house while Hon. Hassan Oyeleke (Ojomu/Shao state constituency is the new Majority Leader.
Ahmad, who represents Ilorin East/South constituency on the platform of the APC, was nominated by Hon. Hasan Oyeleke from Ojomu/Shao constituency of Offa Local Government Area, while the motion was seconded by Hon. Adamu Usman, Okuta/Yashikira constituency of Baruten council.
After his inauguration, Hon. Ahmad said that he was honoured to be elected as Speaker, considering the status of Kwara in Nigeria’s political history.

Ad Are you a One Minute Man? This Nafdac Approved Solution Would Help you Last 30mins+ with no side effects" Visit: