Director-general of the Nigerian Law School, Mr. Olanrewaju Onadeko and 21 other lawyers were yesterday announced as new Senior Advocates of Nigeria, SAN, by the Supreme Court.
The conferment of the prestigious rank on the 22 lawyers yesterday brings a total number of SANs to 451.
Meanwhile, activist lawyer, Mr. Festus Keyamo who was shortlisted along with 55 others, again missed out of the list of successful applicants.
The chief registrar of the Supreme Court, Ahmed Gambo Saleh who doubles as the secretary of the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee, LPPC, announced the list in Abuja yesterday.
Ahmed disclosed that a total of 55 lawyers were shortlisted out of the 131 that applied.
On the list of the 22 successful candidates are three academics and two females.
The list has the names of Mr. Olanrewaju Onadeko (DG of Law School); Nnamonso Eminem; Prof. Muhammed Tabiu; Dr. Valerie-Janette Azinge; Olufunke Agbor; Olusola Ojutalayo; Richard Akintunde; Oyesoji Oyeleke; James Njeze Ikeyi, and Elisha Kurah.
The rest are Adewunmi Ogunsanya; Olatubosun Olanipekun; Chief Kalu Umeh; Adewale Adesokan; Andrew Igboekwe; Fredson Okoli; Olaseni Adio; Olasheni Ibiwoye; Abdulhakeem Mustapha; Mba Ukweni; Edward Gyang Pwajok (former Attorney General of Plateau State), and Prof. Chukwu Omaka.
The chief registrar said the new SANs would be sworn-in on September 19, 2016.

READ ALSO  Fuel scarcity: Kachikwu deploys NNPC staff to filling stations