The Taraba Elections Petitions Tribunal on Thursday, said it had received 11 petitions from aggrieved candidates on the outcome of the recent State and National Assembly elections.

The Secretary of the tribunal, Mr Ariyo Alaba, made this known at a news conference in Jalingo.

He said five of the petitions were on the Senatorial election, four on the House of Representatives and two on the State House of Assembly elections.

READ ALSO  Suspect dies in EFCC custody

Alaba added that the petitions were from Taraba North, Taraba South, Gashaka/Kurmi/Sardauna Federal Constituencies, Wukari/Ibi constituencies, Takum 1, Wukari 1, among others.

He said the senatorial petitions included Sani Ali (APC-Taraba North) versus the state’s Acting Governor, Alhaji Sani Danladi (PDP), Ishaya Bauka (SDP-Taraba South) versus Sen. Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP), among others.

READ ALSO  Avian influenza: Expert calls for robust measures

Alaba said petitions on the House of Representatives election included those of Mr Ibrahim El-Sudi (APC Gashaka/Kurmi/Sardauna Constituency) versus Mr Danasabe Hosea (PDP), Mr Adi Byewi (APC Wukari/Ibi constituency) versus Chidi Danjuma (APGA), among others.

Others are Mr Daniel Tsokwa (SDP -Takum 1) versus Hosea Ibi (PDP) and Mr David Orchee (APC-Wukari 1) versus Pius Sabo (PDP).

READ ALSO  Abia Govt begins urban renewal in Aba

Alaba said all petitions must be registered at the tribunal not later than 21 days of the declaration of the election results.
He added that petitioners must also pay a N400,000 service fee before the registration. (NAN)