UPSETS! as APC, PDP lose strongholds — Nigerian Pilot News
Connect with us

Election 2019 Update

UPSETS! as APC, PDP lose strongholds



PDP alleges plot by Presidency, APC to set-up Atiku

…PDP loses Gombe, Kwara

…APC loses Kano, Oyo, Adamawa, retains Lagos

…Kwankwaso bounces back

…Tension in Rivers as INEC suspends collation of results

As officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, continues to release the result of the governorship election held in twenty nine states last Saturday, major upsets were recorded in several states across the country.

In Gombe state the All Progressive Congress, APC, ended the 16-year rule of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP as its candidate, Inuwa Yahaya was declared the winner of the gubernatorial election.

Yahaya polled a total of 364,179 votes to beat the PDP’s candidate, Bayero Nafada who scored 222, 868 votes in Saturday’s poll.

According to the state returning officer and Vice-Chancellor of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, Prof Saminu Ibrahim, Gombe state has 1,394,386 registered voters. Of that number, 627,451 voters were accredited while the total votes cast were 623,230.

Prof Ibrahim announced that the total valid votes were 608,846 while a total of 14,384 votes were rejected.

In Kwara state the ‘Oto ge’ campaign that ended the political dynasty of the Sarakis was reinforced as the APC won the governorship election and all the 24 House of Assembly seats in Kwara.

The Returning Officer for the governorship election, Prof. Liman Sanusi, announced the emergence of AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of the APC as winner of the governorship election.

Sanusi, who is the Vice Chancellor of Federal University, Lafia said AbdulRazaq scored a total of 331 546 votes to emerge victorious

Sanusi said Razak Stunwa of the PDP came second with 114,754 votes, while APA came third.

According to the returning officer, the total number of registered voters in the state is 1,376,372, while a total of 464,393 were accredited for the election.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Malam Garba Ataihuru-Madami, also announced that candidates of the APC won all the 24 seats in the House of Assembly.

Perhaps, one of the biggest upsets came from Kano state where Governor Abdullahi Ganduje of the All Progressives Congress was sent packing by the PDP governorship candidate, Abba Kabir-Yusuf.

The PDP candidate polled 1, 011, 154 votes while the outgoing governor polled 963, 087 votes

On Sunday night the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Seyi Makinde, was on course to win the Oyo State governorship election.

Although he has not been officially declared as winner, as at the time of going to press, the PDP candidate has won 27 out of the 32 local government areas declared so far.

Only one local government, Ibadan South West, was still being awaited.

The PDP candidate has so far received a total of 481,177 votes from the local government declared while the All progressives Congress candidate, Bayo Adelabu, received 331,799 votes.

In Ogun state the APC candidate Prince Dapo Abiodun was leading in eight local government results that were declared INEC in the state.

In Ijebu-Ode Local Government, Abiodun defeated the PDP’s candidate, Buruji Kashamu, polling 13,234 votes while Kashamu polled 7,289 and Abiodun Akinlade of APM, scoring 4,401 votes.

Governor Ibikunle Amosu, though a member of APC, is sponsoring the APM candidate.

In Odogbolu Local Government, Abiodun won by polling 12,529 votes, while Akinlade polled 7,516 votes, while Kashamu scored 3,418 votes.

With imminent defeat starring it in the face, the Allied People’s Movement called on INEC to defer announcement of result of Saturday’s Governorship and House of Assembly elections in the state.

The Chairman of the APM Campaign Organisation in Ogun, Alhaji Sarafa Isola, made the call on Sunday at a press conference in Abeokuta.

Isola alleged that some hoodlums and unidentified uniform men disrupted the vote counting process at various centers and went ahead to falsify the result sheets in many council areas.

He said the affected council areas, according to Isola, are Abeokuta-South, Abeokuta- North, Odeda,Ifo, Obafemi-Owode and all council areas in the Ogun East Senatorial District.

”In local governments areas like Sagamu, Odogbolu and Ogun Waterside that were won by the APM, the results were changed to deny our party its well deserved victory.

“In other local governments won by the APC, the figures were altered to increase the margin between the APC and the APM.

”The disruptions were clearly designed to ensure that the APM does not meet the required constitutional requirement of 25 per cent of votes in the council areas of the Ogun East Senatorial District.

Sunday night there was uneasy calm in Adamawa state chapter of the APC as candidate of PDP, Alhaji Umaru Fintiri, is leading incumbent Gov. Muhammadu Bindow as INEC announced the results of 17 out of 21 local government areas in the state.

Fintiri is leading with 308,356 votes, while Bindow has 288,443 votes.

The results announced at the Governorship Collation Centre in Yola before the Returning Officer, Prof. Andrew Haruna, indicated that Fintiri won in Mayo-Belwa, Yola North, Song, Michika, Numan, Guyuk, Jada, Lamurde and Demsa Local Government Areas.

Bindow clinched Shelleng, Yola South, Girei, Mubi North, Mubi South, Maiha, Fufore, Ganye and Maiha Local Government Areas.

The results from remaining four local government areas of the state are being awaited as at Sunday night.

Meanwhile, palpable tension enveloped Rivers State on Sunday following the suspension of collation of results by INEC.

INEC director of information and voter education committee, Festus Okoye, said reports from its officials on the field showed that the election was marred by widespread disruption.

He said many officials of the commission were held hostage while electoral materials were seized.

“These initial reports suggest that violence occurred in a substantial number of polling units and collation centers,” the statement read.

“Staff have been taken hostage and materials including result sheets have either been seized or destroyed by unauthorised persons.

“In addition, safety of our staff appears to be in jeopardy all over the state and the Commission is concerned about the credibility of the process.

“Consequently, at a meeting held on 10th March 2019, the Commission has decided to suspend all electoral processes in the State until further notice. This is in line with Section 26 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) and Clause 47 (e) of the Regulations and Guidelines of the Commission.”

INEC added that it had established a fact-finding committee to access the situation and report back in 48 hours.

3,257 total views, 10 views today

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Most Read