of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State
will today confer honoray degrees
on four prominent Nigerians during
the joint convocation ceremony
where 12,600 students will graduate
from the institution.
Those to be conferred with
the honorary doctorate degrees
are the immediate past National
Chairman of the Independent
National Electoral Commission,
INEC, Prof. Attahiru Jega, pioneer
Vice Chancellor of the university,
Prof. Ethelbert Nwakuche Chukwu,
former Nigeria Labour Congress,
NLC President, Comrade Ali
Chiroma and the institution’s
chancellor, His Majesty, Okuku
Uwa Umoh Adiaka III, Paramount
Ruler of Obot Akara in Akwa Ibom
At a pre-convocation press
conference in Yola, the university’s
Vice Chancellor, Prof. Kyari
Mohammed disclosed that the
school will soon unveil a Student
Support Scheme to help indigent
students continue the pursuit of
their education in the institution.
Mohammed noted that the
measure was aimed at providing
succour to the vulnerable and weak
among the students who may drop
out of school as a result of dearth of
He noted that out of the 12,600
graduating students, 8401 will get
first degrees made up of 29 first class
certificates, 1491 upper second, 4251
lower second 2449 third class and
181 students who finished with pass
degrees adding that 3415 diplomas
and 777 higher Degrees including
postgraduate diplomas, 525 Masters
Degrees and 65 Phd’s will be
awarded during the convocation.
While disclosing some of
the modest achievements so
far recorded during his first
anniversary as the Vice Chancellor
of the university, Mohammed
said so far he has sent 263 staff of
the university to undergo training
within and outside the country so as
to improve the standard and quality
of education imparted in the school.
He noted that during the joint
convocation, several completed
projects which he inherited at
various stages, will be commissioned
including the academic publishing
center, the school’s e – Library built
and donated by CBN of Nigeria,
and the Central Laboratory.
Other projects to be commissioned
according to Mohammed include
Two Deaneries for School of
Management and Information
technology and School of Pure
and Applied Sciences, noting
that Building Housing and
Regional planning and Geography
Departments will also be
commissioned among many other

READ ALSO  Aderiye’s murder: Adedipe must face the law – OPC insist