NASARAWA State House of Assembly yesterday cited unruly behaviours and violation of its standing rules as reasons for the indefinite suspension slammed against six of its members on Monday this week.
Deputy Speaker of the House, Godiya Akwashiki (PDP-Nasarawa Eggon West) who made the assertion while briefing newsmen at the Assembly complex yesterday, noted that the action became necessary in view of the disgraceful attitudes exhibited by those affected whom he said, turned the Executive and Plenary sessions of the House on Monday to battle grounds.
He maintained that the affected lawmakers, in clear violation of Order 38, sub section 1, 2 and 3 of the House rule, addressed a press conference where they dwelled on issues that affect the Assembly without the consent of the Speaker who is the presiding officer of the Assembly, in addition to turning both executive and plenary sessions of the House into battle grounds.
Recall that the Nasarawa lawmakers engaged in a free-for-all following disagreement on the appointment of sole administrators for 11 of the 13 local government areas of the state by governor Umaru Tanko Al-Makura, leading to the disruption and destruction of some facilities in the Assembly.
The Deputy Speaker, who was standing-in for Speaker Balarabe Abdullahi, in company of other principal officers at the briefing, revealed that an adhoc committee had been constituted to investigate the affected lawmakers and report back to the House within one month for the next line of action to be taken.
Akwashiki denied insinuations making the rounds that the suspension of their colleagues was based on allegation of corruption leveled against them by the embattled members.
He alleged that the action of the suspended lawmakers was beyond their claim for protest against the appointment of sole administrators for local government councils by the governor, but a plot to disrupt the Assembly and takeover its leadership.
The suspended lawmakers are Kassim Mohammed (APC-Akwanga South, Abubakar Obere Kana (APC-Kokona West), Makpa Mala (APC-Wamba), Murtala Sogangi (APC-Nasarawa Central), Musa Isa (APC-Keffi West) and Mohammed Okpoku (APC- Udege/Loko).

READ ALSO  Lawmakers order FRSC officials to bears arms